Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2002-06-25-11:07 p.m.

I've been thinking a lot lately about homosexuality. I know that I'm not a lesbian, although my friends and I have discussed this and decided that we could be if the right woman came along. But that's not what's on my mind. What I'm thinking about is the relationships between people rather than the physical acts that accompany them.

Most of the people who have raised me (my mother and father, aunts, uncles, and grandparents) are against same sex realtionships. The issue of same sex relationships and marriages has never bothered me, even despite my very Roman Catholic upbringing. My problem with discussions of this topic is that I had no response to the ever-popular comment "It's just not right." But silent acceptance of this remark is a thing of the past. For I have finally sorted out my thoughts. Ready? Here goes. See how you like it.

Who gets to say what's right and what isn't? We all have our innate ability to discern from right and wrong for the really important stuff. We all know it's not cool to chase after someone with a knife or torment living creatures or take what doesn't belong to us. But who are we to deem someone wrong for loving someone else, regardless of sex? Straight people don't own love or affection or sexual attraction. How can we possibly be arrogant enough to take it upon ourselves to mete out love as if it were some kind of material good?

Finding love is one of the most stunning gifts anyone can give or receive. We should all be so lucky to have it even once in our lifetimes. Love in any form between any two people only makes the world that much more beautiful. It shouldn't matter who loves whom or for what reason. What matters is that every person loves well and loves happily without reservation. It benefits all of us to witness such a miracle. I only hope everyone is open to receive it.

Love,

Supersteph


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next