Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2001-02-01-3:56 am CDT

I realize that I am nowhere. Odd the thoughts that come to your head at 4:00 in the morning on a school night when you should be asleep (ohhhh, I'm so bad. What a rebel). But really, I am nowhere. Let me expand on this thought. I don't mean that I'm physically nowhere. Everyone has to be "somewhere." I'm talking about those neat little categories like "child" and "adolescent" and "adult." Where do you put 19-year-olds? In the adolsecent group? I've far outgrown running around after Backstreet Boys (although that A.J. guy is pretty hot) and I no longer feel the overwhelming need to be in the "cool group" and date the quarterback of the football team. I can't get away with that "teenage angst" stuff that was accepted when I was sixteen. I don't go into fits of rage if someone eats the last Pop Tart. But if you don't Leggo my Eggo(TM) I just might have to take you down.

On the other hand, I don't yet feel right calling myself an adult. I've taken on responsibilities of an adult. I now have bills to pay and commitments to meet other than washing the dishes and finishing my homework. I get to stay up late and come home in the wee hours. But I don't live on my own. My mommy still washes my clothes when I go home on weekends and my dad still tells me to "be good" when I call him on the phone. Is there a category for that? I'm a semi-adult. Most definitely not a teenager but not ready and not completely willing to start my life as an "adult."

Stuck somewhere in the middle isn't really a bad place to be. Just confusing sometimes. Can't do the twentysomething bar scene but completely not into the football-cheerleader glory of high school life. Since most people here at school are confused in much the same way, you have a pretty fun bunch actually. Some start their every sentence with "When I was in high school. . ." Others date the 26 year olds trying to leap seven years ahead of themselves. You have the ones who bury their heads in the sand and don't come out until they hit 21. Then there's the me-type. We kinda don't know what to do and jump from being really, really, really bored waiting for something to happen (ya know, like an adult) to the kinda crazy, fun, way you get when you're really, really, really bored and waiting for something to happen which makes you do stupid things to entertain yourself (ya know, like a teenager. Correction: SEMI-ADULT)

Whew! Now that I've established my place in the scheme of things, I can get to sleep. I DO have class in the morning. Maybe I'll skip it and head for the mall (*evil grin*)

Love,
Supersteph


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next