Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2003-05-09-2:10 a.m.

This has been a week of last things. Today was the last day I would ever go to mass at the chapel on campus. Yesterday was the last day that I would ever eat at Deluxe Diner at 1:00 in the morning with my friends. My last movie at the "ghettoplex," the ghetto movie theater down the street from campus will be on Monday.

As I mentioned in my last post I will be graduating on Saturday. That will be the last time I walk through the campus that I have called my home for four years and it will still be my home. When I leave the auditorium Loyola will no longer be my home. It will be the school I used to go to, and in many ways that's sad for me. I was happy here. I met my best friends here. I learned here, and not just classroom lessons. I learned to accept defeats and mistakes gracefully. I learned that I have nothing to regret even when I thought I had made irreparable mistakes. I grew up in ways I didn't even realize I needed to grow.

The first day I moved in as a freshman, I cried because I was so homesick for my parents' home. I never realized that four years later, which felt more like four minutes, I would be crying because I had to leave this place I couldn't wait to leave that first day.

I don't know what my future holds. Perhaps I will make my way back here for law school or maybe I really will move away and leave all of this behind. I just know that I could not have had this life without knowing who I have known and doing what I have done and making those mistakes that I thought would ruin my life forever. In the grand scheme of things what really matters is that I did something I was never sure I could do. I will walk across that stage knowing I have a crowd of people cheering me on, and that my graduation is recognition not just of my academic work, but of my life work and my growing up.


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next