Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2000-12-13-11:57 am CDT

Finals are almost over! Four down, two to go. I'm a little less stressed than I was last time I wrote so I think I'll be a little less pissy in this entry. Maybe.

Things are kind of weird right now.

You may remember me speaking of my roommate C and my friend B. I wanted them to start dating. THEY wanted to start dating but wouldn't admit it to themselves. Well they did! Woo-hoo! I couldn't be happier for them. They're great together. But it feels a little strange for me. I'm kind of stuck in the middle now. Since their sexual relationship is so new I often find myself making up excuses to leave the room to give them some "alone time." This is fine with me. It's just a new experience. I feel so uncomfortable around them anyway so it's kind of a relief for me to get out of there. No matter how hard I try, it's impossible not to feel like a third wheel around a couple in love, especially when I'm not in love myself. But I'm trying to get over it.

My other friend N has recently started dating someone. This guy is absolutely gorgeous and treats her like gold. It also doesn't hurt that he's a Calvin Klein model. Mmmmmmm, abs.

There is something completely amazing that has come out of this for me though (aside from my absolute happiness for my two dear friends). I've realized that I LIKE being single. I get to do anything I want to do with whomever I want, whenever I want. I don't have to consult anyone or bring them along with me. It's a fantastic feeling. Granted if someone came along and swept me off my feet I wouldn't push him away (especially if L gave me one of his model friends). But the cool part is that I've stopped looking for him. What a relief! Whenever I went anywhere, I saw it as potential for finding someone, a boyfriend, a date, whatever. Literally, I would look at people and decide if I could date them (you know you do it too) Now I can go to a movie or a club or a bar (shh don't tell) and just have fun, hang out, dance (badly) and not give a damn what others might think of me. How liberating! Being single, I've learned to take control of my life and not worry about what others think of how I choose to live it.

Now, I'm not a paragon of self-confidence just yet, but I'm well on my way. I think I just might go dancing this weekend. Maybe I'll bring my dating friends. Just to remind me of what I'm missing. And what I'm not missing. No men for me! Or better yet, LOTS of men for me:)

Love,
Supersteph


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next