Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2001-04-24-4:10 p.m.

There are some people in the world who sit around and wait for life to happen to them. They wonder and wish and hope without taking any action towards achieving their goals, their needs. Those people who complain about no one paying attention to them, but who do not or cannot make themselves noticeable. They choose the passive route, the safe route. They are afraid to show any part of themslves in fear of being rejected. The same questions always run throught their heads. Am I saying the right thing, doing the right thing? Is it ok to disagree with someone on this? Should I pretend to agree, even if I don't?

I was one of these people. I think we all are or were at one time or another. The difference between me now and the me I used to be is that I can disagree, say what I want, do what I want without fear of not "fitting in."

My brother and I once had this conversation where he told me how lucky I was to have the things I have. I agree. I am extraordinarily lucky to have my life, which puts me in awe every day. The nature of the conversation is what offended me. When my brother was a teenager, he had some problems and made some bad decisions. My parents have a hard time trusting him now. He told me I was *lucky* to have that trust. To some extent I agree. But that doesn't mean that I didn't work for it. That doesn't mean that the life that I have just fell into my lap while I did nothing. Everything I have I worked hard for.

We all have obstacles to overcome. What matters is how we overcome them. I don't want to be that person who sits around and waits for life to happen to me. I have so much to give. We all do. Why should we wait for someone to ask us for it?

Love,
Supersteph


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next