Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2001-02-27-4:52 pm CDT

It's amazing what a culture shock can do to you. Last Saturday I went to a Serbian concert with my brother's girlfriend who (surprise,surpirse) is Serbian. Apparently we were going to see this singer who is extrememly famous in Yugoslavia, and of whom I have have never heard. It made me realize that everything is cultural and completely relative to the environment in which one grows up. Here was this man who might as well have just been a stranger on the street, and people were fawning all over the guy, asking for his autograph, which he freely gave.

The really cool thing about this concert is not so much the singer (who was totally cool and entertaining) but that people got up and danced. I got up and danced, which is even more amazing. It wasn't hard to do, think Greek dancing. Everyone grabs hands and kinda moves collectively. It was actually pretty moving, all of these people coming together to enjoy themselves.

I must say that in the beginning I was afraid to tell people I was American. Granted I was with N, who is Serbian and speaks it fluently, which was good since all of the music was in that language and all of the people were speaking in their native tounge. I was still worried that when they all found out I was American they would tell me to leave or something. We basically blew up their country, who would like anyone after that?

But the acceptance was pretty amazing. N said something that set my heart at ease though. She assured me that they loved having me there. "Who doesn't love it when someone is interested in another culture?" she said. How true!

There was one thing that night that really upset me. We met a boy, 18 years old, who had been living in the U.S. for about two years after being released from a prison in Sarajevo. He spoke of his experience with no bitterness or hatred. His tone was matter-of-fact, like he was telling us the weather. I didn't know what to make of that.

Overall, though, the experience was amazing. Seeing a different culture, being accepted into that culture if only for one night was one of the most fantastic things that I have ever been a part of. I hope to do it again.

Try to get a little culture shock every once in awhile. It spices up life and opens you to all sorts of new and exciting experiences.

Love,
Supersteph


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next