Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2003-03-19-1:22 a.m.

I'm not quite sure what to do. I've never been in this situation before. I was nine years old when the Gulf War began. I remember my friend's brothers going to fight. The yellow ribbons tied around the trees. We had a little book with all the names of the boys who had gone to fight from our church. It sat on the altar and every mass we would send up a special prayer for them.

It was far from me then. I was too young to remember much of what was happening. But now. . .

Every one of my male friends and family is of draft age, which I know probably won't even be enacted, but the fear remains. My cousin just joined the Navy Reserves. Basically he finishes training and leaves for Iraq. I fear we are opening up Pandora's box and we will have neither the strength nor the support to close it again. The United States is pissing off too many people with this war, alienating too many countries.

I wonder how much the government is holding back from us. I can't help but question motives. Is this really for the good of the United States or are we just trying to resurrect an old vendetta we couldn't finish twelve years ago.

I don't like that we spit in the faces of the United Nations and disregard their obvious misgivings about this war. Why aren't we asking ourselves why the UN feels uneasy about supporting this war?

We sit in support of the CNN war that blares at us from our televisions, not the real war that our government fights. I'm not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing. Do I want to know what's really going on? I can't answer that question. I don't know if anyone has the answers.

What I do know is the only yellow ribbon I want to see, is the one tied in a little girl's hair as she runs off to play with her friends in a free and peaceful world.


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next