Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2003-02-14-12:50 a.m.

I consider myself to be a quasi-feminist, in that I believe that women should have equal salary, job-opportunities, etc. But I shave my legs, am sort of anti-abortion and, hell, I even wear pink from time to time. And, this is the doozy, I like it when men call me sweetheart. It makes me feel sexy. Now before you take away my "womyn" card and send in the vagina police, let me explain.

Feminism is about doing what makes you happy. Be it hooking on the street or becoming a lawyer, real feminism is not about what we are called or whether or not we shave our armpits. It's all about attitude. It's about not taking shit from anyone, male or female.

When I first started college, I jumped right on the feminist bandwagon. It had always bothered me that my private all girls high school only taught "domestic arts" (ie, sewing, cooking, and child development, which was basically running the faculty preschool) and not, say, basic auto repair, or shop class like the boys school across the parking lot. I was always more of a "pop the hood and get my hands dirty" kind of girl than a "let's bake a quiche" kind of girl. For a school that was supposed to empower women, they certainly did a great job of perpetuating the notion of keeping us "barefoot and pregnant."

Sure we could get an education and learn about Ancient Chinese literature, as long as we took our typing class to fall back on. Wanna go to softball practice? Trot on over to the boys' baseball diamond. We can't possibly have a field of our own.

Needless to say that when I got to Loyola, I was awestruck at the level of dedication some of these women had. I also realized that some of them were crazy. I like to wear dresses from time to time. I don't want to chop all my hair off and declare my vagina "no-man's-land," although through no fault of my own, it's kind of received that title anyway.

Some people may say that by allowing men to call me "derogatory names" I have set women back hundreds of years. And maybe I have. But that's just your opinion. Don't get me wrong, if people are sleazy, they can make any word they say make you want to run home and shower. But if it is used as term of endearment, with kindness and gentleness, and hell, even love, I'll let you call me sweetheart. As long as you let me call you sweetheart right back.


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next