Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2003-07-09-3:34 a.m.

Just when you think you've found the only place where who you know and who you blow doesn't matter, someone comes up with a place like Friendster. From what I understand anyone can join the site but one can only meet people if they already know someone who knows someone else and you have to add friends to make friends. So if none of your real life or online friends belongs to Friendster you're basically the equivalent of the math geek in high school who picked his nose and never washed his hair.

This kind of exclusivity falls directly on par with the password protected online journal. What the hell is the point of having an online journal if you and the four people you've given the password to are the only ones who are going to read it? Send them a fucking email. Likewise, if you are already friends with the people with whom you joined Friendster why don't you just call them on the phone? Ignoring the fact that there is a website for everything for a minute, why must we create a website to speak to people we already know?

Granted, I may have this Friendster thing all wrong. If I do please feel free to tear my arguement apart. I'd even like to join if I am misinformed. If I am right, however,(which is far more likely as I am almost never wrong) the human race has once again astonished me beyond belief. We have somehow managed to take what connects the most people worldwide and turn it into an exclusive club where you only get in if you know the bouncer.

. . . .Maybe one of the cool kids can sneak me in.


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next