Old
New

Profile

Send me mail

Write something

Brought to you by Diaryland




Tiny Boxes

Simplysara

Nosepilot

Flare 22

Taciturn

BWG
2004-08-29-3:33 a.m.

Everyone has heard the saying "you can't go home again" and I have always kind of agreed with its basic idea. A home once left behind never quite feels the same as it did before one left it. There is always a new dynamic that didn't exist, new routines set without your knowledge or consent. Coming home again means that you have to adapt to the new, even if some of those things you once loved have changed in your absence.

I went to my grade school reunion yesterday and it felt just like coming home to a place so familiar but not quite the same. Initial conversation was of course awkward and dull. The requisite playing catch-up on the last ten years having been completed I found myself, like my other classmates, struggling to find the common ground and flowing conversation that came so easily to us all those years before.

Just as I was about to say my farwells and prepare for another ten years of thinking fondly of my childhood friends, the conversation changed and that old habit of friendship came peeking around the corner of uncertainty and we fell right back into that routine that I thought had been lost forever. It was kind of like going home again, not quite the same for we all had our share of life-altering experiences, but somehow with a familiarity I thought we had lost. Those essentials that made things special in the first place always remain, no matter how long we let them atrophy from lack of use. Sometimes we just need to shake the muscles out, and they will remember the way to fluid motion, smooth and graceful as ever.


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com


previous-next